Home Page History of Lledr Hall OEC

History of Lledr Hall

Lledr Hall was built in 1904 by a wealthy shipping business owner. It was built as a family holiday house for summertime. It had two big reception rooms downstairs and a kitchen as well as three bedrooms upstairs.

The structure was built from the timbers used in the Pavilion of the Blaenau Ffestiniog Eisteddfod of 1899.

It was bought by Salford City Council in 1974 for the people of Salford to use to get some fresh air and exercise away from the city. It provided the opportunity for young people to develop their self-reliance and self-esteem in a managed environment.

In 2006 a new extension was built between the existing house and gear store to provide modern facilities under one roof. The new building is accessible by all with a ground floor bedroom and bathroom for easy access and a lift to take less able upstairs.

The grounds of the Centre extend to over 12 acres and include lawn, garden and mature woodland all bounded by the stunning river Lledr. In the grounds over the past 15 years we have developed a range of activities including low and high level ropes courses, orienteering courses, a canoeing and kayaking pool and even our very own gorge walk.

Family photograph of the original owners
Lledr Hall archive photograph
Early years as an outdoor education centre
History

 
© 2013 Lledr Hall Outdoor Centre